Houghton Mifflin Harcourt (U.S.)

With nearly two centuries of award-winning history, Houghton Mifflin Harcourt’s Trade and Reference Division continues to publish some of the most renowned novels, non-fiction, children’s books and reference works in hardcover, trade paperbacks, ebooks and mobile apps. In adult books, we publish such authors as George Orwell, Virginia Woolf, Eudora Welty, Hannah Arendt, Gunter Grass, Carson McCullers, T.S. Eliot, Umberto Eco, Philip Roth, Tim O’Brien, Jhumpa Lahiri, J.R.R. Tolkien, Jonathan Safran Foer, Jonah Lehrer, and Eric Schlosser. Among our most prominent children’s authors are H.A. and Margret Rey (authors of Curious George ®), Chris Van Allsburg, Lois Lowry, Gary Schmidt, David Wiesner, David Macaulay, Mem Fox, Mary Downing Hahn, Eleanor Estes, Audrey & Don Wood, Steve Jenkins, and Virginia Lee Burton.